WMRR National President election – the results are in

 18 May 2021

Members of the Waste Management and Resource Recovery Association of Australia (WMRR) have cast their votes in the 2021 National President election and the Association is pleased to announce that Mr Geoffrey Webster has been elected for the role for a two (2)-year term.

Voting, which closed at 5pm AEST on Friday, 14 May, attracted close to 200 membership votes in a hotly contested election between four (4) candidates. Mr Webster who is based in South Australia and is currently the director of Waste and Management Services, won the race with 47% of all eligible votes.

“WMRR congratulates Geoffrey on winning the election and we sincerely thank all nominees for their enthusiasm and willingness to contribute to WMRR and the industry, as well as members who voted. It is pleasing to see such high levels of engagement with members, evidenced in the strong response to the nomination and subsequent election,” WMRR CEO, Ms Gayle Sloan, said.

“WMRR’s success is guided by the skills, time, and efforts of our members who play a significant role in driving the Association’s actions and objectives. We thank all members and directors who voluntarily contribute their time and expertise in propelling our Association and the industry forward.

“In particular, we would like to extend our heartfelt gratitude to outgoing National President, Mr Garth Lamb, who has completed the maximum two (2) consecutive two (2)-year terms with grace and balanced leadership. His commitment to our essential industry, being a tireless advocate for the sector and WMRR, will always be remembered,” Ms Sloan said.

The 2021-2023 National President will commence his role at the 8 June 2021 Annual General Meeting in Sydney. Current financial WMRR members are invited to attend the AGM; to register or for further information, please click here.